Feed the Future
This project is part of the U.S. Government's global hunger and food security initiative.

Making trees count: Measurement, reporting and verification of agroforestry-based carbon

Event Date: 
Jun 25, 2019
Time: 
9:00 am EDT
Online: 
Online Event
Host: 
CGIAR Research Program for Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security (CCAFS)

Information

Agroforestry contributes to farmers' livelihoods and ability to adapt to our changing climate. Agroforestry also sequesters carbon, contributing to climate change mitigation, but how much?

Over a third (59 of 147) of developing countries have proposed agroforestry as a climate change mitigation activity to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). While countries have ambition to expand agroforestry, their capabilities to measure, report and verify (MRV) agroforestry actions and their carbon impacts are limited.

So how can we make agroforestry trees count in global climate action efforts?

The public is welcome to hear presentations on the latest science and join the conversation. This webinar will:

  • Assess countries' ambitions and capabilities to implement MRV in agroforestry
  • Explore a user-friendly and cost-effective approach to identifying agroforestry used in Southeast Asia
  • Summarize the revised Tier 1 factors on agroforestry carbon stock change factors and explain why they are critical to improved MRV and national reporting 
  • Investigate how inter-governmental dialogue on silvopastoral systems in Latin America is overcoming institutional barriers to agroforestry MRV

The webinar will conclude with a panel discussion based on questions from attendees.

Expert speakers:

  • Rémi Cardinael, French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development (CIRAD)
  • Todd Rosenstock, World Agroforestry Centre (ICRAF)
  • Marta Suber, ICRAF
  • Karis Tenneson, Spatial Informatics Group, LLC (SIG
  • Lini Wollenberg, CGIAR Research Program for Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security Low Emissions Development (CCAFS LED)

Join us on Tuesday, June 25 at 9am EDT, Washington DC. (8am Bogota, 4pm Nairobi, 8pm Hanoi)

Register here. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

This is the third in a webinar series presenting recent land use and climate research by the CGIAR and supported by USAID’s Office of Global Climate Change.

Comments

Posts Related to this Event